The Board of IMTAL recognizes the importance of decision makers to the future of museum theatre. The IMTY Award was established to recognize CEOs or Senior Staff members who have demonstrated strong support for museum theatre. 

Nominations are accepted each year from January 1 - January 29 from any current IMTAL member (institutional, individual, or student). One recipient is selected, and the award is presented during the IMTAL Luncheon at the AAM annual meeting. IMTAL requests that the winner attend the Luncheon as IMTAL’s guest to receive their award and briefly address the attendees.

Nomination Instructions: 
To nominate a senior staff member from your institution, please email the IMTAL President (president@imtal-us.org) with the following information:

  • Name of the person you are nominating
  • Title
  • Address
  • Your name
  • Your contact information (address, phone number, email address)
  • Will the nominee be attending the AAM Annual Meeting?
  • Will you be attending the AAM Annual Meeting?
  • Please provide a brief statement describing how your nominee has supported museum theatre in your institution.

The IMTY Award recipient will be notified approximately one month before the AAM Meeting. IMTAL may also request a brief phone interview with the winner and a digital photograph to use with the announcement of the award both online and in INSIGHTS magazine.


Please feel free to contact the IMTAL President with any questions.  


  2017  Philip YurisGillette Castle State Park
2016  David RosenbergMonterey Bay Aquarium
2015  Melanie AdamsMissouri History Museum
2014  Betty Brewer and Rebecca Gilliam Minnetrista
2013  Judith GradwohlNational Museum of American History
2012  Deborah GastonNational Museum of Women in the Arts
2011  Kerry SautnerNational Constitution Center
2010  Joe ImholteScience Museum of Minnesota
2009  Wilton CorkernAccokeek Foundation

Jeff Patchen
      Interview with Jeff, click HERE.
The Children's Museum of Indianapolis

2009 IMTY recipient Wilton Corkern, then President and CEO of the Accokeek Foundation,
accepting his award with Lisa Hayes, then Director of Education and Public Programs

© 2017 IMTAL    |    Webmaster Contact

International Museum Theatre Alliance (IMTAL)
c/o New England Museum Association
22 Mill Street, Ste 409       Arlington, MA 02476
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software